mea culpa, apologia, and democracy in blogging

Dear Generous Reader,

I recently re-read my earlier blog entries, and I noted a pretty pedantic voice coming through. I’m not sure I can prevent my personal dogma from bleeding through in my topic choice or the “opinion” content of a post. Not sure I want it too. This is my blog, and I held myself out as a kind of digital prophet, so you knew I was going to pop off, right? I would like, however, to acknowledge that I am probably already angering friends and foes alike with some of my editorial bent. Mea culpa, then, is thus: I am sorry for irritating you a bit, and even sorrier that I am not really toooo sorry! I can’t thank you enough for reading some words you may not love at first sight, that is why I addressed you as a “generous” reader. I can..not..believe..any one of you has read more than a sentence! Thanks! (As part of my apology, I have attached a “virtual” gift of one of my succulent plant creations at the bottom of the post. We’ll be talking about succulents soon enough! If things go well for you in this forum, you could end up with a nice, “actual” gift of potted succulents ;)).

Regarding apologetics: I went to Bible college, and even though I never entered public ministry, I demonstrated an early, and apt grasp of Christian Apologetics. I love the explicit power of words in studying, and debating in philosophy, theology, and apologetics. An apologetics discussion we could enter in to could be as simple as; The COEXIST bumper sticker, seen here, there, and everywhere. The coexist sticker’s ubiquity unintentionally demonstrates an almost universal truth, “people want to believe” in something. All those world religions weren’t created in a vacuum! There are finely settled arguments about man being a “religious” creature in disciplines as subjective as Sociology and Anthropology, to more objective, scientific insights about how religious experiences impact the human brain chemically and even structurally.  I won’t rehash all that here, because most of my readers will hold to a faith or belief system of some sort, unless I draw a humdinger of a statistical anomaly for readership (atheists are welcome here too, but you will be routinely put through the spanking machine ;)). Same topic, different angle; all the religions represented by the symbols on that sticker don’t want to coexist, some of them want you to join their deal or die! Yikes! Same topic, different angle; I agree we can coexist peacefully with our differing views, and enjoy lively debate, but debate we must! Look at all those symbols again…each faith there makes truth claims about life, the universe, and everything. Any two of those belief systems will undoubtedly disagree with one another on a very significant aspect of the nature of existence itself! Peace as we live and work together, peace as we respect one another, but fight like hell over the rest of it, because in my belief system there is a Hell, and I believe that literally. What kind of person would I be if I believed in Hell, but didn’t care enough for you to at least point out the edge of the cliff for your consideration??? I just listed three ways we can squabble over the coexist bumper sticker! 🙂 I am cantankerous! I want to fight with you too, though we both know I’ll win the debate. If we already know I am going to win, you have no reason to fear engaging me. 😉

The call for democracy in blogging flows from my last bragging claim. Even though I think I am right about almost everything, I would love to interact with you regarding any topic you may have a differing opinion on. I will be gentle and respectful in my responses because you are generous, and the Bible tells me so! I hope you’ll contribute any thoughts you have via comments, as the web, and this blog are truly democratic. If you’re comments call for it, I may invite you to guest blog on this site, even if I disagree with you. You could really put it in my face if I piss you off! Even though I want to persuade you with my rhetoric, I’d rather engage with you; person-to-person, mind-on-mind, word-for-word.

Click the “WORD up!” link on the right column and subscribe. I will probably make you angry at some point, but now, you know, that I know, how to deliver a “kinda sorry” apology. Word to all you mothers and brothers and others!

With gentleness and respect,

scribblerjeff

About scribblerjeff

wordswurdswirds is the first-time ever blog on words, language, and the culture they invoke, through the eyes, mind, and keyboard of Jeff Jenkins. Jeff is a Christian/outlaw, husband, father, reader, writer, theologian, philosopher, and pre-apocalyptic, pop-culture prophet of the new media, which is the same as the old media. There is nothing new under the Sun. When I am not writing this blog, I am selling commercial janitorial services, though in my mind, I am already at the California Coast with my family and friends. Word! View all posts by scribblerjeff

Leave a Reply

