Correspondence

I have written you letters

Each page of my life

To tell you I care

To find out where

You are in your travels

Through distance and time

Old friend of mine

And may I meet you there?

You have sent postcards

From some lonely isle

Where you are

Far very far

From the mainland and me

Through feelings and thoughts

Comes your short reply

And well wishing well you were here

I will write you a book

Not too long but complete

To tell you I love

To tell you of

Pain that we don’t sail together

Through distance and time

Dear father of mine

And will you read past chapter one?

Jeff Jenkins

About scribblerjeff

wordswurdswirds is the first-time ever blog on words, language, and the culture they invoke, through the eyes, mind, and keyboard of Jeff Jenkins. Jeff is a Christian/outlaw, husband, father, reader, writer, theologian, philosopher, and pre-apocalyptic, pop-culture prophet of the new media, which is the same as the old media. There is nothing new under the Sun. When I am not writing this blog, I am selling commercial janitorial services, though in my mind, I am already at the California Coast with my family and friends. Word! View all posts by scribblerjeff

3 responses to “Correspondence

  • Kris Landgraf

    Beautiful poem, Jeff. I love my dad, too and have not grown past the pain of losing him. Hope you had a great Father’s Day!! πŸ™‚

    • scribblerjeff

      😦 I am sorry, Kris. I remember your posts about that very difficult stuff. If there are lingering heart issues, don’t let them go unresolved! You can “say” anything to your dad, that you feel was left unfinished. Even the “corny” stuff, like writing him a letter, then burning it will help your sense of proximity to the man, and any healing process. I would have been proud of you as a daughter, and I’m sure he was. The best gift any woman can give a husband or father, is to love the stuffings out of their progeny, and I know you do! πŸ˜‰
      Thanks for reading. This was the anchor of a little Father’s Day sermon I preached on twitter.com, where a lot of people, have a lot of pain, surrounding dads, both the living and the dead.

  • scribblerjeff

    I wrote this poem many years ago, during a healing process. I shared it today because so many people are hurting about their relationships with dad. I love my dad and have grown past a lot of the pain in the poem. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

