My Heart and My Bones – (Tragic Comedy)

As I age
I sense the hands of time
Touch my heart in the secret place
Which is bigger than I knew
Or even guessed existed in me

Quiet sadness abounds
Yet it is harder for me to cry
Still I don’t have to try
When something hits that sweet spot
That is glad to live in some pain

I am becoming sentimental,
But I sell out to the process…
In my heart
Learning to enjoy life’s ebb and flow

As I age
I feel the hands of time
Touch my bones and stiffen them
Though not so stiff I can’t laugh
At and with myself

Doubled over, belly aching hilarity
Drawing unbidden, humorous tears from me
Not from the humerus (which isn’t really funny)
But from bones I’ve chewed through
Which now tickle my gut

I am a laughing lunatic,
But I sell out to the process…
In my bones
Learning to enjoy life’s ebb and flow

Jeff Jenkins (on the occasion of my 46th birthday)

About scribblerjeff

wordswurdswirds is the first-time ever blog on words, language, and the culture they invoke, through the eyes, mind, and keyboard of Jeff Jenkins. Jeff is a Christian/outlaw, husband, father, reader, writer, theologian, philosopher, and pre-apocalyptic, pop-culture prophet of the new media, which is the same as the old media. There is nothing new under the Sun. When I am not writing this blog, I am selling commercial janitorial services, though in my mind, I am already at the California Coast with my family and friends. Word! View all posts by scribblerjeff

Leave a Reply

